Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Seniors Club Classic 

The National Seniors Club Classic is a team event. Four players from either side play head-to-head matchplay. Highest handicappers play first (maximum allowable 18). In the event of the match being halved at 2-2 the two lowest handicap players continue on a sudden-death play-off. The winning team then goes through to the next round. First round losers are entered into a Plate tournament, so everyone gets at least two games.

We try to alternate home/away fixtures, to keep it as fair as possible, and visiting players each receive one extra courtesy stroke - this goes a little way to levelling up the ratio of home/away victories. This courtesy stroke might take a visiting player up to a handicap of 19 - this is correct.


Courtesy of the course should be given to visiting players (though if that is not possible, as might happen at a proprietory Club) we have a rule whereby the visitors' green fees are shared with the home players - see the Rules page. Each round has a window of about seven weeks to arrange and play the match. Each team can nominate up to seven players in each season. 


First Round Draw

Matches to be played by May 19th


Painswick v Leominster A

Shrewsbury v Henlle

Ufford Park v Langdon Hills

Copsewood Grange v Shirley

Castle Royal v Strawberry Hill B

Colchester v West Essex

Cambridge Meridian v Knebworth

Eaton B v Royston

Gedney Hill A v Eaton A

Bridport & W Dorset B v Christchurch B

Badgemore Park v Oakland Park B

Rudding Park v Filey

Pryors Hayes v Greenmount

Leominster B v Mile End

Cooden Beach v Wrotham Heath

Bishopswood v Bridport & W Dorset A

Christchurch C v Oak Park A

Forest Hills v Naunton Downs

Derby v Bondhay

Oak Park B v Foxhills

Cookridge Hall v Poulton-le-Fylde

West Herts v Burstead

Strawberry Hill A v Oakland Park A

Cotswold Edge v Lilley Brook

Seacroft v Gedney Hill B

Christchurch A - bye 



2018 Tournament - And the Winners are . . . 


In the semi-finals the two Walsall teams managed to stay apart, setting up the possibility of an all-Walsall final - if they both won, of course. Monday dawned drab and wet, if it dawned at all, with a stiff breeze, making conditions difficult for all players. Walsall A took on Bridport & W Dorset and the match see-sawed back and forth until it became apparent that a play-off would be needed. 

Bridport & W Dorset stole it on the first play-off hole.

In the other semi-final Walsall B took on Langdon Hills B and came out ahead by 3-1.

The scene was set for Tuesday's final but the weather again let us down. Though unseasonably warm and still there was an early-morning fog that refused to lift totally until very late in the afternoon - by which time we'd all gone home. Walsall B won by three-and-a-half to a half.

Congratulations to Walsall B - our 20th anniversary Champions.



















In the Plate semi-final Ufford Park, in their third successive appearance in the finals, played Ashford, here for the first time, and experience showed with Offers Park running out 3-1 winners. Forest Hills, meanwhile, had a semi-final bye as Filey had to pull out.

This set up a final between Ufford Park and Forest Hills, which Forest Hills won by 4-0. 

Congratulations to Plate winners, Forest Hills.